Bags of Bran


What I Et fer Lunch Today (as though the world would care)
January 2, 2010, 5:46 pm
Filed under: Personal Adventures

After a 70 minute workout on the bike on short rations, I was famished. Here’s what I did to rectify the situation:

  • 3 links of lo-fat turkey sausage
  • 3 eggs
  • ½ cup of milk
  • 1 cup of chopped mushrooms
  • 3 small cloves garlic
  • 1T Mrs. Dash Extra Spicy
  • ½ cup Pace chunky salsa
  • 1 whole wheat tortilla

I first browned the sausage. It gives off absolutely no fat, so it takes a bit of time for it to cook. When they were done, I cut them up into little chunks, taking care not to send them flying out of the pan and into the salivating maw of Phoebe the Magic Pooch.

While the sausages were tanning, I prepped the other goodies: crack them eggs, mix in the milk and Mrs. Dash, chop the shrooms, press the garlic into the shrooms. I kept the eggs and veggies separate for the moment.

When the prep work was done and the sausages were fully tanned and cut into chunks, I poured the egg mixture over the chunks, gave it a good stir, and then dumped in the shrooms and garlic. Since the pan was already hot, all I had to do was stir for a few minutes, and boy howdy! I threw a whole-wheat tortilla on a plate, dumped the mixture onto it, topped it with hot salsa, said Grace (and some other words), and down the hatch.

The salsa and the milk in the eggs made it a bit runny, but I can’t stand dried out eggs, and I never bother to strain my salsa for fear of losing something important. One could also top it with cheddar if he were so inclined, but I’m cutting calories these days, and the un-cheesed product is plenty flavorful without. If I had it to do over again, I would have use only two eggs because it turned out to be rather a tummy-stretching feast for so early in the day. Therefore, Phoebe the Magic Pooch got some leftovers and said “SCORE!!!” in puppy semaphore.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

newmeasures

Welcome to your new home on WordPress.com

Immoderate

\"If I am immoderate, I am immoderate to God.\" - Bengel

Bindlestiff

Like sawdust, but edible.

Broad Meadow

I have spoken the truth coldly; who cares for the truth? To be useful, one must be charming, and my pen has lost that art.

sonofcarey.com/

Planting churches with the Baptist Confession in one hand and Tolkien in the other

Orchard Keeper

Plucking fruit from the grove of biblical and theological studies

Jubilate Deo

Music in the service of the church

Diakrisis

Theology, apologetics, ramblings

Towards Conservative Christianity

Promoting true conservative Christianity

Unknowing

We have a strong city. - Is 26:1

