Bags of Bran


Things Bright
October 6, 2011, 9:29 am
Filed under: Biography

It’s not entirely related to my thesis that the first praiseworthy category in the hymn “All Things Bright and Beautiful” is “Things Bright.” I just got a light that will help me to ride my bicycle in the dark as briskly and care-freely as if it were under then noonday sun. It most assuredly belongs in the bin labeled “Things Bright.”

It’s made by a company called Serfas, and it’s called the True 1500. This, the reader will agree, is an apt name, because the light happens to cough up 1500 lumens on its highest setting. How bright is that? Imagine a camera flash that stays on, or perhaps an arc welder, or maybe one of those lime green leisure suits from Lawrence Welk. It’s bright, or, to continue the opening metaphor, it is a “Thing Bright.”

It’s almost too bright, because if you happen to shine it on a reflective surface or something light colored, it makes little red and green rectangles hover in your field of vision for a short time. Perhaps that will be fun for some people, I don’t know. I probably won’t use the highest setting too much, except to bewilder wildlife and to scare the ghetto out of my yard when it’s looking for things to steal.

Now I gotta go and find me some dark, deer-laden woods to go rifling through at breakneck speed, with my wife’s permission!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

newmeasures

Welcome to your new home on WordPress.com

Immoderate

\"If I am immoderate, I am immoderate to God.\" - Bengel

Bindlestiff

Like sawdust, but edible.

Broad Meadow

I have spoken the truth coldly; who cares for the truth? To be useful, one must be charming, and my pen has lost that art.

sonofcarey.com/

Planting churches with the Baptist Confession in one hand and Tolkien in the other

Orchard Keeper

Plucking fruit from the grove of biblical and theological studies

Jubilate Deo

Music in the service of the church

Diakrisis

Theology, apologetics, ramblings

Towards Conservative Christianity

Promoting true conservative Christianity

Unknowing

We have a strong city. - Is 26:1

