Bags of Bran


The C Team (At Least I Made It)
May 23, 2012, 10:59 pm
Filed under: Biography, Personal Adventures

I’m working my way through Doug Wilson’s Wordsmithy and I find it to be a very good challenge. That, as the astute reader may have been able to decipher, is a veiled reference to the fact that I think I stink at it. Forging a compelling idea into coherent text uses muscles that I need to train. Like lots of other things in my life, when it comes to writing, I find myself playing starting pitcher for the C team.

Now, when one plays for the C team, one has many more chances to strike out the opposing batters due to low expectations. If the reader is familiar with Richard Adams’ wonderful children’s book Watership Down, he may recognize the concept tharn, where the bunny rabbits essentially go catatonic in the face of danger. A good curveball will likely make a C team batter go tharn. He’s not expecting a good curveball: he’s expecting a mediocre fastball at the knees. Likewise, pirating Victorian turns of phrase and salting my prose with grammatical gimmicks can make people chuckle, but it cannot move the inner man. C team writers can make people chuckle: A team writers can change the world.

Well, it’s not all bad, I suppose. I’ve got a lot of reading to do between here and who knows where. I don’t think writing will ever be a career, but it’s certainly going to be a hobby. Of course, that makes two hobbies if one counts the bike, but they are rather different. For example, I rode two different bikes today: I rode my mountain bike this morning, then I went to the dentist (a hobby unto itself), then I rode my road bike tonight. All told, I rode 63 miles or so: not necessarily an outrageous tally, but I do feel fairly weird right now. And now I’m doing a little bit of writing practice. Come to think of it, writing feels weird too.

But I plan to try out for at least the B team someday, so I’d better get reading.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

newmeasures

Welcome to your new home on WordPress.com

Immoderate

\"If I am immoderate, I am immoderate to God.\" - Bengel

Bindlestiff

Like sawdust, but edible.

Broad Meadow

I have spoken the truth coldly; who cares for the truth? To be useful, one must be charming, and my pen has lost that art.

sonofcarey.com/

Planting churches with the Baptist Confession in one hand and Tolkien in the other

Orchard Keeper

Plucking fruit from the grove of biblical and theological studies

Jubilate Deo

Music in the service of the church

Diakrisis

Theology, apologetics, ramblings

Towards Conservative Christianity

Promoting true conservative Christianity

Unknowing

We have a strong city. - Is 26:1

