Bags of Bran


Unsought, Unheralded, Unanticipated, Unambiguous.
May 24, 2014, 11:00 pm
Filed under: Biography

Many of my friends know that I have been courting a local church that has been without a pastor. Well, the courtship is over, and I have agreed to become their pastor, as of just the other day. I am ready to fall over with the sheer weight of this privilege and responsibility, just as I am ready to skip around the room at the opportunity to undertake it.

Is there more to the story? I suppose there is, but for now, it is my distinct privilege to bring truth to bear upon hungry people.

Part of that privilege and responsibility is to sift the hymnal for worthy hymns. It’s looking a little bleak: there are some good ones, but there are so many bad ones, by which I mean BAD, not merely inadequate or uninspiring, but savage ventings of the low passions set to advertising jingles. I figure that about 25% of the songs will prove to be adequate or better; about 40% will be songs that one could sing to Dagon or Molech with only minor modifications (if any at all), and the rest are either so hide-bound or banal that nobody would want to sing them. We may have to supplement, but that’s OK: I have 42 other hymnals over here next to the Combat Shelf, right under Calvin and Lenski.

Another part is I GET TO PREACH A LOT!!! But that means I have to understand the Bible, which everyone knows to be easy enough for a four-year-old. Then I have to make a rhetorically sound somethingorother out of my discoveries and present it in such a way that everyone isn’t distracted by my mannerisms, and loudly enough that Carl, who has spent a lot of time at the shooting range, can hear me.

Finally, I get to try to flesh out the sentiments and their subsequent reasonings that have arisen here at Bags of Bran. It’s a lot easier to criticize unprincipled leadership than it is to be a wise, principled leader. I only hope that I’ve seen enough of the bad to avoid at least those mistakes, and that I’ve seen enough good worth emulating that I’ll not spend all my time avoiding and actually be able to accomplish something.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

God’s grace to you as you lead, teach and shepherd!

Like

Comment by Lotus

Thank you! That’s what I need more than anything.

Like

Comment by christopheram




Leave a Reply

newmeasures

Celebrating Revivalism and Other Noxious Pieties

Immoderate

\"If I am immoderate, I am immoderate to God.\" - Bengel

Bindlestiff

Like sawdust, but edible.

Broad Meadow

I have spoken the truth coldly; who cares for the truth? To be useful, one must be charming, and my pen has lost that art.

sonofcarey.com/

Planting churches with the Baptist Confession in one hand and Tolkien in the other

Orchard Keeper

Plucking fruit from the grove of biblical and theological studies

Jubilate Deo

Music in the service of the church

Diakrisis

Theology, apologetics, ramblings

Towards Conservative Christianity

Promoting true conservative Christianity

Unknowing

There is no one here with any sense of humor but they never stop laughing. -Evelyn Waugh

