Bags of Bran


Commendable Perspectives
December 28, 2015, 1:47 pm
Filed under: Bibliophilia, Destined to get me in trouble

As you loyal readers (both of you) know, I haven’t written much lately, whether on this site or any other. The reason is that I have discovered that many of the things I would say are very often better said by other people, and my greatest service to you would be to direct you to them. When John the Baptist instructed his followers to follow Jesus instead, he was doing them the greater service than if he had merely tried to poach Jesus’ sermons and pass them off as his own.

With that in mind, I commend to you Tom Chantry’s blog, chantrynotes. He writes from a Reformed Baptist perspective, and as a Baptist myself, I find his critiques and observations especially apt. As I always say, I never give an unqualified endorsement; but Chantry usually does a good job.

In particular, I commend this particular article, where the author rightly points out that John Piper’s evident lack of stability and consistency is symptomatic of an utter lack of discernment. He has no ability to tell the moral worth of anything beyond the theological categories yucky and yummy. Chantry has it right.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

newmeasures

Celebrating Revivalism and Other Noxious Pieties

Immoderate

\"If I am immoderate, I am immoderate to God.\" - Bengel

Bindlestiff

Like sawdust, but edible.

Broad Meadow

I have spoken the truth coldly; who cares for the truth? To be useful, one must be charming, and my pen has lost that art.

sonofcarey.com/

Planting churches with the Baptist Confession in one hand and Tolkien in the other

Orchard Keeper

Plucking fruit from the grove of biblical and theological studies

Jubilate Deo

Music in the service of the church

Diakrisis

Theology, apologetics, ramblings

Towards Conservative Christianity

Promoting true conservative Christianity

Unknowing

There is no one here with any sense of humor but they never stop laughing. -Evelyn Waugh

